Adjustment of Status from K1 Visa

It’s been a while since I’ve written, but now that I am officially married, it’s time to adjust my status (AOS) to become a permanent resident in the USA. Like the K1 visa, this process involved doing my own research and reading, as we are not using an immigration attorney for this part either. Therefore I suggest that anybody about to go through the same situation read the following sources before beginning:

If you have any problems filing out your forms, a simple google search for example completed forms or “How to fill out form ____” will assist you. USCIS also provide instructions with each of their forms, with details of what evidence you need to send with the forms and in depth information about how to complete the forms. I have also included links to each of the forms on the USCIS website below, instructions can also be accessed using the coloured links below.


What you need to know before filing

You can only file AOS once you are married and have received your marriage certificate as this needs to be included in your packet.

When filing your I-485, Application to Adjust Status , you are able to concurrently file your I-765, Application for Employment Authorization (EAD) and I-131, Application for Travel Document (AP) at no additional cost. The reason that most people choose to do this, including myself, is that you will receive an EAD/AP combo card which will allow you to accept employment and travel out with the United States whilst your green card processes which can sometimes be a lengthy process.

If you leave the US whilst your green card processes and you do not have AP, they will cancel your green card application and you will have to go through the whole process of obtaining a CR1 visa before you can get back into the US permanently.


How I organised my paperwork Screen Shot 2017-09-28 at 14.31.27

I used four individual folders, which I will detail the contents of in the next section of this post. To group items I used either paperclips or small binder clips (remember USCIS don’t like staples) and a large binder clip to secure them all together with the cover letter on the top. I opted to send this via FedEx so it was tracked and signed for as there was a lot of important information in it, it took absolutely ages, and a few mental breakdowns to put it all together haha! The address for sending it via this carrier is slightly different from the normal address, all of which can be found here.

Now even though you are filing these forms concurrently, they will be processed separately, so that is why you have to separate them . You will notice in the list of contents below that some items are duplicated across my folders of evidence, it is essential that you include all the information requested for each individual form or you will get a Request For Further Information (RFE).


What I Included in Each of the Folders

FOLDER ONE

  • Form G1145, e-Notification of Application/Petition Acceptance
  • Cheque for the amount of $1225.00 which covers: $1140.00 for AOS application + $85.00 for Biometrics

FOLDER TWO

Form I-485, Application to Adjust Status

  • Photographs (2) of Yasmin
  • Photocopy of birth certificate of Yasmin
  • Photocopy of passport biographical page, K1 visa page previous US entry stamps
  • Photocopy of previous J1 work visa and entry stamp
  • I-797 Notice of Action (I-129f Petition Approval Notice from USCIS)
  • Photocopy Form DS-3025 Vaccination Documentation Worksheet from Knightsbridge Medical Practice (my medical exam in the UK is still valid, I do not have a Class A medical disorder and my vaccination record has been properly completed)
  • Print out of I-94 Arrival/Departure record
  • Photocopy of Marriage Certificate with covering letter from town hall

Form I-864 Affidavit of Support with photocopies of supporting documents (completeted by US Citizen):

  • Employment letter confirming income from employer
  • Letter to explain income in 2014/2015 (my husband was a full time student during these years)
  • Last 6 months of pay stubs from employer
  • Photocopy of 2016 Income tax return with W2s
  • Photocopy of Mortgage Note 2017
  • Photocopy of Property Tax Assessment 2017

FOLDER THREE

Form I-765, Application for Employment Authorization

  • Photographs (2) of Yasmin
  • Photocopy of passport biographical page and K1 visa page
  • Photocopy of Form I-94 Arrival/Departure record
  • Photocopy of Marriage Certificate

FOLDER FOUR

Form I-131, Application for Travel Document

  • Photographs (2) of Yasmin
  • Explanation of Qualifying Circumstances for AP (Not necessary as I filed with AOS, but wanted to include it just incase)
  • Photocopy of passport biographical page and K1 visa page
  • Print out of I-94 Arrival/Departure record
  • Photocopy of Marriage Certificate

Next Steps after filing your paperwork with USCIS

  1. From what I’ve read, the first step is to receive three separate I-797C Receipt Notice of Action (NOA) forms from USCIS to confirm that they have received your paperwork.
  2. The next step after that is to receive your biometrics appointment letter, where you will go to your local office so they can collect your fingerprints, photograph and signature.
  3. Then you should receive another NOA from USCIS to let you know that your EAD/AP combo card has been produced. They estimate that these should be approved approximately 90 days after receiving your USCIS received date which will be on your NOA letters.
  4. Finally you should receive another NOA from USCIS to either confirm your interview date for AOS or to confirm that you have been approved without an interview and your green card and immigration welcome pack is on it’s way.

The green card timeframes seem to be pretty unpredictable, some people seem to take a few months, others a year, sometimes more! As I said above, an interview may not be required and the only reason that this wouldn’t be necessary is because I entered on a K1 visa and completed an interview in June 2017.

I will write more about my AOS process as I progress through it!

Lots of Talking, Yaz XOXO. (1)

31 thoughts on “Adjustment of Status from K1 Visa

Add yours

  1. Can’t believe the amount of organisation preparation and obvious time and effort has gone into this process from the start it would put mere mortals off. You would really need to be committed to put yourself through this. You have had to do all the leg work and putting this type of blog together to help others is incredible. It will not make the process shorter but definately easier and less stressful for people wishing to make the move. Impressive

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey, how is everything? Our petition this end is on its way to the USCIS. Did you have to interview in the end?

    Samantha xx

    Like

    1. Hey Samantha! 😊 I’m in New York, so it will be a couple more months till I hear about my AOS interview. I’m expecting to hear back from them round about may! Which is about 8 months after I applied and 6 months after my EAD/AP was approved! May be longer, but hoping for the best!! 😂 XOXO.

      Like

  3. Hey! I received our notices in the mail last Friday for the Adjustment Status, Travel and Employment. I just received out Biometrics appointment letter today, I was surprised as normally it takes 2-7 weeks, fingers crossed! 🙂 Hope you have been ok, not long to go until you hopefully hear about the interview xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad to hear that Sam!! ❤️ Hopefully you are a little bit faster than me!! What state did you say you were in again? Will let you know as soon as I hear anytbing!

      Like

      1. Hoping so, still nervous about the appointment. Do you know if Matt would be coming in with me? We are in Georgia so I’m guessing we’ll be going down to Atlanta for the interview like the Biometrics xx

        Like

      2. Some of the stories I have heard on visa journey, one freaked me out as they said the consular wasn’t nice right off the bat and denied them. My K-1 interview was very fast I didn’t have time to think about the answers and were really straightforward! xx

        Like

  4. Biometrics went ok, apart from them taking time to do my fingerprints! They had to keep rubbing that wipe and redoing my prints it was awkward haha! Checked the status of our case and it has already updated to scheduled for interview and that they will mail me a notice. Have not yet received the NOA2’s though or combo card, hoping everything is ok! xx

    Like

  5. I felt like I had to let you know how helpful your blog has been for me and my fiance. It has saved us so much time and has given us a fantastic guide to follow. I can’t thank you enough. Keep doing what you’re doing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Breahnna 😊

      Thanks so much for getting in touch, always nice to her words of encouragement! Congratulations on your engagement and if you have any questions along the way that haven’t been answered by the blog, let me know ❤️

      Like

  6. Hey Yaz! I am putting together the AOS folders and wanted to ask if you made a separate cover letter for each folder too? On the USCIS mailing info is stated that every submission folder will go to different department. Therefore, I was thinking maybe it will be easier for them to actually see the contents in the folders too.
    Also, I was wondering what did you write on the package when you sent it to Chicago lockbox? Only your name and address or anything else?
    Thanks!

    Like

    1. Hey Alexandra! I did one one cover letter only and had no issues 😊 but, if you want to do separate ones for each packet, feel free too. On the package, I wrote the address and then just my name and return address. Hope this helps! Feel free to get in touch with anymore questions 😊

      Like

      1. Thank you so much!
        I really appreciate! Me and my fiancé are getting married early November and I really want to say that your blog was really helpful! Clear and on point! ❤️

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hi Yaz! I just sent my AOS package and used your AOS guideline. I was checking the USCIS website for Affidavit of Support checklist and it says that for some sponsors you need to attach US passport photocopies and for some not. I am very confused as you haven’t send it and hoping I am not going to get an RFE. 😢

        Like

      3. Hey Alexandra 😊 is your partner your sponsor or are you using a cosponsor? I didn’t send one as it didn’t ask for it in the form requirements, plus they already had a copy of my husband’s passport page from the K1 submission. I didn’t get an RFE for not sending it again, I wouldn’t worry about it 😊

        Like

      4. Oh ok. My husband is my sponsor. I was thinking the same. We submitted so many documents proof for my husband’s citizenship; for I129F and also for the interview and I thought that has been already done.
        Thank you so much!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Erika, there is no time limit to apply for AOS. Providing you got married within the 90 days of entering the US on your K1 visa. Obviously, sooner is better, as you technically don’t have a status without AOS pending or approved – so it will be difficult to get set up in the US without it. Hope this helps! 🙂

      Like

  7. Hi Yaz! I’m about to apply for AOS and I have a question: Did you have to get any additional vaccinations done before you sent off your application? I did my medical at London as well, and I noticed I didn’t have to get the Varicella one done (which was apparently required online). So just wondered if that will affect my application. Thanks! ^^

    Like

    1. Hi Wendy! Nope if knightsbridge told you that you were up to date and you didn’t need anymore jabs then you should be fine. I didn’t get any additional vaccinations and had no issues with my approval etc. 😊 it won’t affect your application, just send them a copy of the medical form knightsbridge gave you, in your AOS packet and you should be good to go!

      Like

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑